American Cancer Society honors Nashville resident for his distinguished volunteer service


Dr. Philip Wenk, DDS is among a select group to receive the St. George National Award

Dr. Philip Wenk, DDS, president and CEO of Delta Dental of Tennessee, was presented with the American Cancer Society St. George National Award, the Society’s most prestigious Division volunteer honor.

Wenk is one of 19 inspirational individuals from across the country who received the award for outstanding service to the community in support of the Society’s mission to finish the fight against cancer.

Recipients were chosen based on their continuous leadership, commitment, and dedication to key initiatives in the areas of fundraising, mission delivery, patient support, legislative advocacy, and event engagement.

Wenk has proven himself to be an instrumental leader of both local and statewide fundraising, mission and education efforts. Through his leadership position with Delta Dental, he has been an avid supporter of the American Cancer Society’s annual Fore a Cure Golf Classic. As a member of the American Cancer Society Memorial Foundation Hope Lodge fundraising committee, Wenk helped raise funds as a corporate and high-net-worth door opener and was involved in developing strategic plans to increase guest lodging capacity.

He has been active in the work to grow the Society’s CEOs Against Cancer Tennessee chapter, participating in annual leadership forums, securing event venues and corporate sponsors, and helping to introduce, recruit and encourage other CEOs to support the mission through membership.

Since conceived in 1949 by Dr. Charles S. Cameron, former Society medical and scientific director, the St. George National Award has been presented annually to Society volunteers nationwide. To be nominated, a volunteer must have served as a leader in community mission delivery and/or governance for a minimum of six continuous years and must have made a significant impact on the Society’s strategic goals and mission-driven programs. Nominations are made by local Division boards, approved by the St. George National Award Task Force, and presented to the American Cancer Society Board of Directors.

“The volunteers honored with this award have dedicated their time and resources to the fight against cancer,” said Pamela K. Meyerhoffer, FAHP, volunteer chair of the American Cancer Society Board of Directors. “Their commitment to and passion for our mission is remarkable.”

In addition to Wenk, the Society also honored: John Alfonso, CPA; Arnold M. Altman; Andrejs Avots-Avotins, MD, PhD; William H. Boykin Jr., MD; Dennis Cataldo Katherine L. Griem, MD, FACR; Stephanie Harriston-Diggs; Karen Humphrey; Charles K. Kicker; Mark Kopczynski; Brian A. Marlow; William J. Mayer, MD, MPH; Melvin P. Palalay, MD; Tina Pidwell; Chand Rohatgi, MD; Patsy Romero; Bruce D. Waldholtz, MD and Beth Walker.


About the American Cancer Society:

The American Cancer Society is a global grassroots force of more than three million volunteers saving lives and fighting for every birthday threatened by every cancer in every community. As the largest voluntary health organization, the Society’s efforts have contributed to a 20 percent decline in cancer death rates in the U.S. since 1991, and a 50 percent drop in smoking rates. Thanks in part to our progress nearly 14 million Americans who have had cancer and countless more who have avoided it will celebrate more birthdays this year. As we celebrate 100 years of service, we’re determined to finish the fight against cancer. We’re finding cures as the nation’s largest private, not-for-profit investor in cancer research, ensuring people facing cancer have the help they need and continuing the fight for access to quality health care, lifesaving screenings, clean air, and more. For more information, to get help, or to join the fight, call us anytime, day or night, at 1-800-227-2345 or visit